[January Update]

A few things have changed since I last blogged. I decided that the medication I was taking for my fibromyalgia was causing side effects that were worse than the disease itself so I am trying to manage my symptoms through diet, herbal supplements, and essential oils. So far my routine consists of taking turmeric twice a day, a hot glass of water with lemon essential oil every morning, and frankincense on my big toe each morning. I also apply frankincense with coconut oil to my back each morning and use a drop under my tongue for nerve pain as needed. Honestly, the effects of doing this are just as good as what I was getting with pharmaceuticals. And they don’t make me feel crazy!

Adding in the supplements and oils is by far the easiest part. If I want to control my autoimmune problems without pharmaceuticals, I have got to completely clean up my diet and get back into a moderate exercise routine as well. One step at a time. I’m slowly trying to get myself on a healthy way of eating. My husband is the most supportive person in my life. He’s willing to stand by my side and eat the same foods I eat as I embark on this journey. I know that I won’t succeed if I just make myself give up everything that I love to eat so we are doing the 100 Days of Real Food mini-pledge program. This is 15 weeks of mini-pledges with the goal that if you add on one new pledge/habit a week, by the end of the challenge your diet should be pretty healthy. Of course eating for autoimmune health differs from a standard healthy diet, but I thought this would be the perfect bridge between the Standard American Diet and getting into the strict Paleo/GAPS/AIP type of diet that is usually required to heal fibromyalgia.

We started the week one challenge today. The first week’s challenge is to include 2 servings of fruits or vegetables at each meal. It’s only day one, but so far so good.

fresh-vegetables-and-fruits-7-1441975-m (Image: FreeImages)

This morning I made a green smoothie. I used to drink smoothies daily, but now it’s more like once a week. My smoothie chef game isn’t what it used to be. I picked up some coconut milk this morning that I plan to use in a smoothie sometime in the next day or so. Trying new ingredients is key to keeping me from getting bored with smoothies. For lunch I tried my hand at making minestrone soup. I barely followed my recipe because I was using things we had on hand, but it still turned out delicious. I also found a great deal at the local grocery store on dried thyme so that was a bonus.

I work evenings so my dinner isn’t usually a conventional one. Tonight I just brought along a banana and a cucumber with some lemon pepper and cayenne pepper. It’s going to take some creativity for me to meet this week’s challenge with my evening meal. I do have access to a microwave at work so I may have to learn to enjoy leftovers.

I’m going to try hard to keep this blog updated with how our progress is going. I know this is getting long, but I just wanted to mention that Bruja Botanicals is continuing to grow behind-the-scenes and is still set to be open online and at the Crossett Farmer’s Market by spring. I’m trying to get things set up to have some essential oil and DIY classes locally. That may take a few months to get started. I also should have another business adventure opening up in a month or so, but I can’t talk about that just yet.

Peace & Love

xx.Jess

Leave a Reply

