TheAltMommy takes on Burwell v. Hobby Lobby

I was going to make this a Facebook status, but I knew it would be too long.  This may be my only post before I go back into hiatus again.  I just couldn’t keep quiet about this one.

Hobby Lobby argues that providing access to all forms of contraceptives, including IUD’s and the morning after pill, violates their religious beliefs because they believe that life begins at conception.  Even though the science is there to prove that the morning after pill does NOT cause an abortion, the United States Supreme Court sided with Hobby Lobby because it causes a “substantial burden” to the corporation’s religious beliefs.

Now, where to start with the problems of this verdict?

First of all, the morning after pill is not an aborticacient, nor is any other form of contraceptive covered by the Birth Control Mandate in the Affordable Care Act.  This is a well-known FACT in the medical science community.  It isn’t up for debate at all. In my opinion, if you are even remotely pro-life you should be absolutely in favor of birth control.  You know what prevents abortion?  Not getting pregnant in the first place.  I guess Hobby Lobby hasn’t received that memo yet.

Second, Hobby Lobby does not have any religious beliefs.  Corporations don’t believe anything.  I spent years in the church and reading the Bible, but I do not recall reading about Jesus dying for any corporation’s sin.  I guess they left that part out in our Sunday sermons as well.  The beliefs of the owners should not be forced onto their employees.  Sadly, the Roberts court has shown once again that the rights of corporations trump the rights of actual living beings.

The reasoning behind this decision is that the 1993 Religious Freedom Restoration Act prohibits “Government [from] substantially buren[ing] a person’s exercise of religion even if the burden results from a rule of general applicability” (taken from the SCOTUS opinion).  The SCOTUS argues that the RFRA intended to use the dictionary definition of person which includes both flesh-and-blood people and the fictional entity known as corporate personhood in which a corporation can be deemed a legal person.  I beg to differ.  Nobody in 1993 could have foreseen the Roberts court and their pro-corporation right wing extremism.

Your beliefs are just that, YOUR beliefs.  Insurance exists to help cover people’s medical costs.  Your boss should not be able to control the medical procedures that your insurance covers.  Hobby Lobby is a craft store; they aren’t doctors or scientists.  They shouldn’t be able to just pick and choose what is and is not morally acceptable.  The exact same thing can be said about the justices, all of whom are men, that ruled in favor of Hobby Lobby.

We all need to live and let live.  We should want people to be healthy and happy.  If you’ve made it this far, I’ll reveal to you why this is such a huge issue to me.  If you don’t already know, I almost died after I delivered my daughter.  I suffered from a rare condition known as HELLP syndrome.  If I were to choose to get pregnant again I have a roughly 1 in 4 chance of getting it again.  The death rate for HELLP syndrome is also approximately 1 in 4.  I could literally die if I were to get pregnant.  Obviously I take precautions to prevent that, but I have not had a tubal ligation yet.  Should my insurance-providing employer not cover contraceptives for me?

Everybody has a different story and a different reason for needing access to family planning services.  This issue is between a woman and her doctor.  This has nothing to do with religion.  Nobody has their rights violated just because a woman is given the type of medical care she needs and deserves.

Leave a Reply

