Holidaze

Christmas. Sometimes I think I’m the only person in the world who doesn’t fucking love Christmas. Now that you all are looking me at like I’m Mrs.Scrooge herself, let me explain. It isn’t that I don’t like the holiday… I just don’t like what it has become. I’m agnostic so I feel like a poser in the first place for celebrating it. I like the way my living room looks when all the lights are off except the tree. I like taking my daughter to see the huge Christmas display in our hometown. I like the excitement on the kids’ faces when they get their gifts, but that’s it. For the last several years this time of year has just been nothing but stress over our finances. That hardly seems celebration-worthy.

This morning I heard my boss say “We need some Christmas music in here.” I cringed. I only like one holiday song — “Happy Xmas (War is Over)” by John Lennon. Of course, I can’t actually say these things aloud. That would make the blonde headed baby Jesus cry.

I just don’t understand why everybody assumes that everyone else loves this particular holiday. I don’t assume that everybody else loves Halloween as much as I do, nor do I blast Halloween music every day starting in September.

But regardless of my semi-scroogeness I’ve decided to attempt to embrace the holiday this year. I want to bring in some Pagan traditions to celebrate something resembling Yule. I want to teach my daughter the REAL reason why people celebrate is something that actually exists. Our family has no xmas traditions at all. I want to try to make this time of year all warm and fuzzy so that maybe my child won’t inherit my attitude towards it.

This morning I started a “days until the solstice” countdown on our dry-erase board. That’s as far as I’ve gotten with coming up with traditions. I really suck at this holiday thing. What traditions does your family have? Do you celebrate in a religious or secular way?

Leave a Reply

